National Scientific Committees



COMOS-India has established 21 National Scientific Committees (NSCs) to represent its concerns of cultural heritage conservation, to serve diverse professional interests of its nationwide members, to share knowledge amongst them and, to foster a multi-disciplinary approach to heritage management. Each National Scientific Committee is connected to the corresponding International Committee of ICOMOS. NSCs are established and, operate according to the Statutes of COMOS and, are legally and financially accountable to the Executive Committee of COMOS-India. The NSCs function through the National Scientific Counsellor, who is responsible for monitoring the activities and programs of the National Scientific Committees and, for providing advice and guidance where necessary. All members of COMOS-India can join any two NSCs of their choice. A minimum of 8 members must subscribe for the establishment and continuance of the NSC


A passionate 'heritage professional', Prof. Kiran Joshi is an academic of long-standing, who has spent more than 40 years with architecture schools in various capacities, establishing and advancing the culture of research and publication at various levels. She is well-known as a pioneer in the field of 20th Century Heritage who, with her seminal work, “Documenting Chandigarh – The Indian Architecture of Pierre Jeanneret, Maxwell Fry and Jane Drew”, first introduced the notion of “Modern Heritage” in India. She has been associated with ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on 20th Century Heritage (ISC20C) since 2004, founded India’s National Committee on the subject (NSC20C) in 2013 and is also a Founder Member of DOCMOMO-India. She is a Fellow of the Indian Institute of Architects and a Life Member of INTACH.